Minister of the Environment, Hon. George A. Kerr

Minister of Community and Social Services, Hon. James Taylor

Provincial Secretary for Justice and Solicitor General, Hon. John P. MacBeth

Minister of Education, Hon. Thomas L. Wells Minister of Labour, Hon. Bette Stephenson

Treasurer of Ontario and Minister of Economics and Intergovernmental Affairs, Hon. W. Darcy McKeough

Minister of Correctional Services, Hon. John Smith Minister of Transportation and Communications,

Hon. James Snow

Minister of Natural Resources, Hon. Leo Bernier Chairman of the Management Board of Cabinet, Hon. James Auld Minister of Government Services, Hon. Margaret Scrivener

Minister of Health, Hon. Frank S. Miller

Minister of Consumer and Commercial Relations, Hon. Sidney B. Handleman

Minister of Colleges and Universities, Hon. Harry Parrott

Provincial Secretary for Social Development, Hon. Margaret Birch

Minister of Industry and Tourism, Hon. Claude Bennett

Minister of Energy, Hon. Dennis R. Timbrell
Minister of Culture and Recreation, Hon. Robert S.
Walch

Chairman of the Cabinet and Minister without portfolio, Hon. René Brunelle

Minister without portfolio, Hon. L.C. Henderson.

3.3.1.7 Manitoba

In addition to a Lieutenant Governor, Manitoba has an Executive Council composed of 15 members and a Legislative Assembly of 57 members elected for a maximum term of five years. The Honourable William John McKeag has been Lieutenant Governor since September 2, 1970. As a result of the general election June 28, 1973, 31 New Democrats, 21 Progressive Conservatives and five Liberals were elected to the 30th Legislature. After two by-elections in June 1975, the NDP held 31 seats, the Progressive Conservatives 23 and the Liberals three.

The Premier of the province is paid a salary of \$16,600 a year and each of the other members of the Cabinet \$15,600. Members of the Legislature are each paid a sessional indemnity of \$9,600 and a tax-free expense allowance of \$4,800. Each member attending the session receives an additional allowance of \$900 for expenses incidental to the discharge of his duties as member. The Leader of the Opposition is paid \$15,600. The Speaker of the Legislative Assembly receives an additional indemnity of \$5,000 and expenses not exceeding \$1,000 in aggregate. The Deputy Speaker receives an additional indemnity of \$2,500 and expenses not exceeding \$500 in aggregate. Members required to live away from home receive a per diem allowance of \$25 from the opening of the session to prorogation excepting days during an adjournment of the Assembly for a period of four or more continuous days.

The Executive Council of Manitoba as at December 31, 1974

Premier, President of the Council, Minister responsible for the Manitoba Hydro Act, Minister of Finance and Minister of Dominion-Provincial Relations, Hon. Edward Schreyer

Minister of Labour, Minister charged with the administration of the Civil Service Act, the Civil Service Superannuation Act and the Public Servants Insurance Act, Hon. A.R. Paulley

Minister of Mines, Resources and Environmental Management and Minister responsible for the Manitoba Development Corporation Act, Hon. Sidney Green

Minister of Agriculture, Hon. Samuel Uskiw Minister of Urban Affairs and Minister responsible for the Manitoba Housing and Renewal Corporation, Hon. Saul A. Miller Minister of Tourism, Recreation and Cultural

Affairs, Hon. René Toupin Minister of Industry and Commerce, Hon.

Leonard Evans Minister of Highways, Hon. Peter Burtniak Attorney General and Keeper of the Great Seal and Minister of Municipal Affairs, Hon. Howard Pawley

Minister of Education and Minister of Colleges and Universities Affairs, Hon. Ben Hanuschak Minister of Public Works, Hon. Russell Doern Minister of Health and Social Development and

Minister of Health and Social Development and Minister responsible for Manitoba Lotteries Act, Hon. L.L. Desjardins

Minister of Northern Affairs, Hon. Ronald McBryde

Minister of Consumer, Corporate and Internal Services and Minister responsible for the Manitoba Telephone System, Hon. Ian Turnbull

Minister responsible for Manitoba Public Insurance Corporation, Hon. Billie Uruski

Minister responsible for Corrective and Rehabilitative Services, Hon. Joseph R. Boyce Minister of Co-operative Development and

Minister responsible for Lands, Forests and Wildlife Resources, Hon. Harvey Bostrom.